x
Skip to main content
Golf Logo
InsideGolf Join Now / Log In
Rules Guy: Can an embedded ball be denied free relief?
SHARE
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
Golf Logo
  • News
    • Latest
      • News
      • Features
      • Shows
    • Series
      • Tour Confidential
      • Monday Finish
      • Hot Mic
      • Rogers Report
    • Shows
      • The Scoop
      • GOLF Originals
      • Seen & Heard
      • Breakthrough
      • Kostis & McCord: Off Their Rockers
  • Instruction
    • Game Improvement
      • Driving
      • Approach Shots
      • Bunker Shots
      • Short Game
      • Putting
      • Rules
      • Fitness
    • Series
      • Top 100 Teachers
      • Rules Guy
      • The Etiquetteist
    • Shows
      • Warming Up
      • Play Smart
      • Shaving Strokes
      • Short Game Chef
      • Pros Teaching Joes
  • Gear
    • Clubs
      • Drivers
      • Irons
      • Hybrids
      • Fairway Woods
      • Wedges
      • Putters
    • Other Gear
      • Balls
      • Shoes
      • Apparel
      • Golf Accessories
    • Series
      • ClubTest
      • Proving Ground
      • Firsthand With A Fitter
      • Winner’s Bag
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • Travel
      • Course Finder
      • Courses
      • Resorts
    • Lifestyle
      • Accessories
      • Celebrities
      • Food
      • Style
      • Betting Advice
    • Shows
      • Super Secrets
      • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Shop
      • Clubs
      • Shafts
      • Training Aids
      • Balls
      • Bags
      • Technology
      • Apparel
      • Accessories
      • Our Picks
      • Shop All
  • Newsletters
    • Sign Up for GOLF’s Newsletters
      • Hot Mic
      • Monday Finish
      • Play Smart
      • Our Picks
      • Top Stories
      • Sign Up for All
  • News
    • Latest News
    • Features
    • Shows
  • Instruction
    • All Instruction
    • Driving
    • Approach Shots
    • Bunker Shots
    • Short Game
    • Putting
    • Rules
    • Fitness
  • Gear
    • All Gear
    • Drivers
    • Irons
    • Hybrids
    • Fairway Woods
    • Wedges
    • Putters
    • Balls
    • Shoes
    • Apparel
    • Golf Accessories
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • All Travel
    • All Lifestyle
    • Course Finder
    • Courses
    • Resorts
    • Accessories
    • Celebrities
    • Food
    • Style
    • Betting Advice
  • Series
    • Tour Confidential
    • Monday Finish
    • Hot Mic
    • Rogers Report
    • Rules Guy
    • The Etiquetteist
    • ClubTest
    • Proving Ground
    • Firsthand With A Fitter
  • Shows
    • The Scoop
    • GOLF Originals
    • Seen & Heard
    • Breakthrough
    • Kostis & McCord: Off Their Rockers
    • Warming Up
    • Play Smart
    • Shaving Strokes
    • Short Game Chef
    • Pros Teaching Joes
    • Super Secrets
    • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Clubs
    • Shafts
    • Training Aids
    • Balls
    • Bags
    • Technology
    • Apparel
    • Accessories
    • Golf Staff Picks
  • Newsletters
    • Hot Mic
    • Monday Finish
    • Play Smart
    • Top Stories
    • Our Picks
    • Sign Up for All
InsideGolf Join Now / Log In
InsideGolf

Make 2025 your best golf year ever:

Get InsideGOLF
Rules

Rules Guy: Can an embedded ball be denied free relief?

By: Rules Guy
January 1, 2025
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
embedded ball

What do the rules say about embedded balls off a tee shot?

Getty Images

The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.

Teeing off, I drove my ball completely underground, eight inches forward. I said the ball was embedded, entitling relief. My opponent said it was unplayable, necessitating a one-stroke penalty. Rules Guy says… —Aaron Lowe, via email


…to consider a driver with more loft.

Rule 16.3a(2) says that a ball driven straight into the ground without becoming airborne is not embedded, and thus free relief for an embedded ball isn’t allowed.

That said, should the ball remain within the teeing area — on the off chance you teed up more than eight inches behind the markers so your ball is in the ground still behind the markers — you can lift the ball and tee it up again anywhere inside the teeing area without penalty, hitting 2, under Rule 6.2b.

For more guidance from our guru, read on …

Rules
embedded golf ball
Rules Guy: Can you take embedded-ball relief from the bank of an unmarked lake?
By: Rules Guy

We have the world’s most unfair bunker fronting our 17th green. It’s seven feet deep, but that’s the easy part. Shaped like a funnel, there’s only .001 inches of sand sitting at the base. When I find myself in this abyss, can I lift my ball as unplayable, rake sand into the base from the walls and then drop my ball for play, one penalty stroke poorer? Thanks for listening. — Bill Herrick, East Moriches, N.Y.

Rules Guy always tries to be a sympathetic ear, and we were with you for a moment there — when you wanted to treat the ball as unplayable and take penalty relief. That’s kosher.

But like the sand in your cruel bunker — “world’s most unfair” surely is stretching things a bit — your request eroded once you contemplated raking the sand where you plan to drop the ball, which, by improving your relief area, is verboten.

You need to simply drop the ball under one of the four options in Rule 19.3, three of which (stroke and distance, back on the line inside the bunker, lateral relief inside the bunker) cost one penalty stroke and the other (back on the line of relief outside the bunker) two penalty strokes.

Other options: Try a sand wedge with less bounce or find a new home course.

Need help unriddling the greens at your home course? Pick up a custom Green Book from Golf Logix.

Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.

Latest In Instruction

2 hours ago

The best advice for breaking 90, according to low handicappers

4 hours ago

Can't stop hitting the ball thin? Try focusing on this

7 hours ago

Cure your chipping yips with this clever trick

1 day ago

5 big things to consider when searching for a swing coach

generic profile image

Golf.com

Related Articles

Rules
OB stake

Rules Guy: Does an OB boundary extend past the last stake?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Golfer's hand reaching for club in bag

Rules Guy: Is it legal to add a club to your bag mid-round?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
golf ball on cart path

Rules Guy: If you choose to play the ball off a cart path and hit it OB, can you take relief on your next shot?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
golfer removing golf ball from hole

Rules Guy: Is it legal to tap down grass around the hole before putting?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Golf ball resting against pin and about to drop into hole

Rules Guy: How much of the ball needs to be in the cup to be considered holed?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
OB stake

Rules Guy: Can you play a ball that goes OB, but is in-bounds on another hole?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Golf ball in the sand trap. No people.

Rules Guy: Can you use a tee to test bunker depth before hitting?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Golfer places ball on tee preparing for a driver shot.

Rules Guy: When playing winter rules, can you tee up your ball on loose impediments?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
LPGA golfer Jennifer Kupcho tosses her ball to her caddie on the 2nd green on June 17, 2022 during the Meijer LPGA Classic For Simply Give at the Blythefield Country Club in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Rules Guy: After marking a ball, can you have your caddie replace it?

By: Rules Guy
Sign up for GOLF's Newsletters
Get the latest news, the hottest instruction tips, new product releases, golf media insider reports and more delivered directly to your inbox. Choose your favorites now.
Sign Up
Categories
  • News
  • Instruction
  • Gear
  • Lifestyle
  • Travel
Services
  • Masthead
  • GOLF Media Kit
  • GOLF Magazine Customer Service
  • TERMS OF SERVICE
  • PRIVACY POLICY
  • Opt-out of Ads/Sharing
  • Your Privacy Choices
Social
  • facebook
  • x
  • instagram
  • youtube
Membership
InsideGOLF Logo
More than $140 Value for JUST $39.99

INCLUDES 12 SRIXON Z-STAR XV GOLF BALLS, 1 YR OF GOLF MAGAZINE, $20 FAIRWAY JOCKEY CREDIT - AND MUCH MORE!

LEARN MORE

© 2025 EB Golf Media LLC. An 8AM Golf Affiliated Brand. All Rights Reserved.