x
Skip to main content
Golf Logo
InsideGolf Join Now / Log In
Rules Guy: Does an OB boundary extend past the last stake?
SHARE
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
Golf Logo
  • News
    • Latest
      • News
      • Features
      • Shows
    • Series
      • Tour Confidential
      • Monday Finish
      • Hot Mic
      • Rogers Report
    • Shows
      • The Scoop
      • GOLF Originals
      • Seen & Heard
      • Breakthrough
      • Kostis & McCord: Off Their Rockers
  • Instruction
    • Game Improvement
      • Driving
      • Approach Shots
      • Bunker Shots
      • Short Game
      • Putting
      • Rules
      • Fitness
    • Series
      • Top 100 Teachers
      • Rules Guy
      • The Etiquetteist
    • Shows
      • Warming Up
      • Play Smart
      • Shaving Strokes
      • Short Game Chef
      • Pros Teaching Joes
  • Gear
    • Clubs
      • Drivers
      • Irons
      • Hybrids
      • Fairway Woods
      • Wedges
      • Putters
    • Other Gear
      • Balls
      • Shoes
      • Apparel
      • Golf Accessories
    • Series
      • ClubTest
      • Proving Ground
      • Firsthand With A Fitter
      • Winner’s Bag
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • Travel
      • Course Finder
      • Courses
      • Resorts
    • Lifestyle
      • Accessories
      • Celebrities
      • Food
      • Style
      • Betting Advice
    • Shows
      • Super Secrets
      • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Shop
      • Clubs
      • Shafts
      • Training Aids
      • Balls
      • Bags
      • Technology
      • Apparel
      • Accessories
      • Our Picks
      • Shop All
  • Newsletters
    • Sign Up for GOLF’s Newsletters
      • Hot Mic
      • Monday Finish
      • Play Smart
      • Our Picks
      • Top Stories
      • Sign Up for All
  • News
    • Latest News
    • Features
    • Shows
  • Instruction
    • All Instruction
    • Driving
    • Approach Shots
    • Bunker Shots
    • Short Game
    • Putting
    • Rules
    • Fitness
  • Gear
    • All Gear
    • Drivers
    • Irons
    • Hybrids
    • Fairway Woods
    • Wedges
    • Putters
    • Balls
    • Shoes
    • Apparel
    • Golf Accessories
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • All Travel
    • All Lifestyle
    • Course Finder
    • Courses
    • Resorts
    • Accessories
    • Celebrities
    • Food
    • Style
    • Betting Advice
  • Series
    • Tour Confidential
    • Monday Finish
    • Hot Mic
    • Rogers Report
    • Rules Guy
    • The Etiquetteist
    • ClubTest
    • Proving Ground
    • Firsthand With A Fitter
  • Shows
    • The Scoop
    • GOLF Originals
    • Seen & Heard
    • Breakthrough
    • Kostis & McCord: Off Their Rockers
    • Warming Up
    • Play Smart
    • Shaving Strokes
    • Short Game Chef
    • Pros Teaching Joes
    • Super Secrets
    • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Clubs
    • Shafts
    • Training Aids
    • Balls
    • Bags
    • Technology
    • Apparel
    • Accessories
    • Golf Staff Picks
  • Newsletters
    • Hot Mic
    • Monday Finish
    • Play Smart
    • Top Stories
    • Our Picks
    • Sign Up for All
InsideGolf Join Now / Log In
InsideGolf

Make 2025 your best golf year ever:

Get InsideGOLF
Rules

Rules Guy: Does an OB boundary extend past the last stake?

By: Rules Guy
January 7, 2025
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
OB stake

What do the rules say about where OB boundary lines end?

Getty Images

The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.

Our course has an in-course OB to protect players on an adjacent fairway. About 240 yards out, in said fairway, is the last OB stake. Our pro says the OB extends on a line parallel to the last two OB stakes “indefinitely.” I say OB ends at the last stake. Who’s correct? —Tim Slauter, West Lafayette, Ind.

The answer should be specified by the local rule that creates the boundary; if not, the pro, as the de facto committee, is the decider.

Important to note: Boundaries and markings don’t just “stop,” and when a marking “ends,” typically it is by either tying into another marking or is extended to infinity. Your pro appears to be alluding to the latter, which is generally indicated by a “double-stake” marking, with two stakes placed within a yard of each other.

As to what the marking should be, that depends upon the nature of this internal OB and the geography — and is above our pay grade.

Rules
Man beside hedge preparing to hit golf ball, head obscured
Rules Guy: An OB stake is hindering my swing. Can I move it without penalty?
By: Rules Guy

For more OB guidance from our guru, read on …

I’ve got a question that has caused a heated debate at my club. If a tee shot on hole No. 1 crosses the out-of-bounds mark, crosses the adjacent street, then enters through the out-of-bounds mark on hole #10 and comes to rest in its fairway, is the ball OB or no? —Mario Polit, via email

Sometimes yes, sometimes no.

Rules Guy isn’t being philosophical or mealy-mouthed; there’s a Model Local Rule (A-5) that would treat a ball that crosses a boundary as out of bounds even if it comes to rest on another part of the course.

Without the Model Local Rule, then if the ball comes to rest somewhere that’s on the course (i.e., in-bounds) it doesn’t matter whether it crossed completely over a boundary or not — the ball is on the course. Which means Rules Guy gets to ask you a question: Does your course have said Model Local Rule in effect?

Need help unriddling the greens at your home course? Pick up a custom Green Book from Golf Logix.

Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.

Latest In Instruction

2 hours ago

The best advice for breaking 90, according to low handicappers

4 hours ago

Can't stop hitting the ball thin? Try focusing on this

8 hours ago

Cure your chipping yips with this clever trick

1 day ago

5 big things to consider when searching for a swing coach

generic profile image

Golf.com

Related Articles

Features
Working for CBS and hosting GOLF's Subpar, Colt Knost is constantly in the mix with the biggest stars in the game: 'I pinch myself all the time.'

CBS course reporter and Subpar cohost Colt Knost is living his dream — and he still can't believe it

By: Dylan Dethier
Features
Multi-ethnic group of young men talking on a golf field

Are you a self-handicapper? Here's how it can help — and hurt — your game

By: Julie Elion
Rules
embedded ball

Rules Guy: Can an embedded ball be denied free relief?

By: Rules Guy
Wedges
close-up of tom kim's wedge

How to personalize and stamp your wedges at home

By: GOLF Editors
Short Game
parker mclachlin hits pitch shot

The 'master recipe' for hitting a high spinning pitch shot

By: Parker McLachlin, GOLF Teacher to Watch
Short Game
nelly korda hits a wedge during the 2024 solheim cup

How to easily improve your distance control with your wedges

By: Parker McLachlin, GOLF Teacher to Watch
Rules
Golfer's hand reaching for club in bag

Rules Guy: Is it legal to add a club to your bag mid-round?

By: Rules Guy
Instruction
david woods demonstrates anti-slice drill

Use this 'magic move' to get rid of your slice

By: David Woods, Top 100 Teacher
Instruction
jason birnbaum demonstrates drill

A foolproof method to stop coming over the top on the downswing

By: Jason Birnbaum, Top 100 Teacher
Sign up for GOLF's Newsletters
Get the latest news, the hottest instruction tips, new product releases, golf media insider reports and more delivered directly to your inbox. Choose your favorites now.
Sign Up
Categories
  • News
  • Instruction
  • Gear
  • Lifestyle
  • Travel
Services
  • Masthead
  • GOLF Media Kit
  • GOLF Magazine Customer Service
  • TERMS OF SERVICE
  • PRIVACY POLICY
  • Opt-out of Ads/Sharing
  • Your Privacy Choices
Social
  • facebook
  • x
  • instagram
  • youtube
Membership
InsideGOLF Logo
More than $140 Value for JUST $39.99

INCLUDES 12 SRIXON Z-STAR XV GOLF BALLS, 1 YR OF GOLF MAGAZINE, $20 FAIRWAY JOCKEY CREDIT - AND MUCH MORE!

LEARN MORE

© 2025 EB Golf Media LLC. An 8AM Golf Affiliated Brand. All Rights Reserved.