x
Skip to main content
Golf Logo
InsideGolf Join Now / Log In
Rules Guy: Is it legal to move a tee marker if it’s affecting your swing?
SHARE
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
Golf Logo
  • News
    • Latest
      • News
      • Features
      • Shows
    • Series
      • Tour Confidential
      • Monday Finish
      • Hot Mic
      • Rogers Report
    • Shows
      • The Scoop
      • GOLF Originals
      • Seen & Heard
      • Breakthrough
      • Kostis & McCord: Off Their Rockers
  • Instruction
    • Game Improvement
      • Driving
      • Approach Shots
      • Bunker Shots
      • Short Game
      • Putting
      • Rules
      • Fitness
    • Series
      • Top 100 Teachers
      • Rules Guy
      • The Etiquetteist
    • Shows
      • Warming Up
      • Play Smart
      • Shaving Strokes
      • Short Game Chef
      • Pros Teaching Joes
  • Gear
    • Clubs
      • Drivers
      • Irons
      • Hybrids
      • Fairway Woods
      • Wedges
      • Putters
    • Other Gear
      • Balls
      • Shoes
      • Apparel
      • Golf Accessories
    • Series
      • ClubTest
      • Proving Ground
      • Firsthand With A Fitter
      • Winner’s Bag
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • Travel
      • Course Finder
      • Courses
      • Resorts
    • Lifestyle
      • Accessories
      • Celebrities
      • Food
      • Style
      • Betting Advice
    • Shows
      • Super Secrets
      • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Shop
      • Clubs
      • Shafts
      • Training Aids
      • Balls
      • Bags
      • Technology
      • Apparel
      • Accessories
      • Our Picks
      • Shop All
  • Newsletters
    • Sign Up for GOLF’s Newsletters
      • Hot Mic
      • Monday Finish
      • Play Smart
      • Our Picks
      • Top Stories
      • Sign Up for All
  • News
    • Latest News
    • Features
    • Shows
  • Instruction
    • All Instruction
    • Driving
    • Approach Shots
    • Bunker Shots
    • Short Game
    • Putting
    • Rules
    • Fitness
  • Gear
    • All Gear
    • Drivers
    • Irons
    • Hybrids
    • Fairway Woods
    • Wedges
    • Putters
    • Balls
    • Shoes
    • Apparel
    • Golf Accessories
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • All Travel
    • All Lifestyle
    • Course Finder
    • Courses
    • Resorts
    • Accessories
    • Celebrities
    • Food
    • Style
    • Betting Advice
  • Series
    • Tour Confidential
    • Monday Finish
    • Hot Mic
    • Rogers Report
    • Rules Guy
    • The Etiquetteist
    • ClubTest
    • Proving Ground
    • Firsthand With A Fitter
  • Shows
    • The Scoop
    • GOLF Originals
    • Seen & Heard
    • Breakthrough
    • Kostis & McCord: Off Their Rockers
    • Warming Up
    • Play Smart
    • Shaving Strokes
    • Short Game Chef
    • Pros Teaching Joes
    • Super Secrets
    • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Clubs
    • Shafts
    • Training Aids
    • Balls
    • Bags
    • Technology
    • Apparel
    • Accessories
    • Golf Staff Picks
  • Newsletters
    • Hot Mic
    • Monday Finish
    • Play Smart
    • Top Stories
    • Our Picks
    • Sign Up for All
InsideGolf Join Now / Log In
InsideGolf

Make 2025 your best golf year ever:

Get InsideGOLF
Rules

Rules Guy: Is it legal to move a tee marker if it’s affecting your swing?

By: Rules Guy
November 8, 2023
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
A view of a tee box on a non-descript golf course

What do the rules say about moving a tee marker in your way?

Getty Images

The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.

A guy in my foursome teed his ball properly behind and inside the marker — but then pulled the marker out, saying it would interfere with his swing. I told him that in a serious competition (which this wasn’t) this move may in fact disqualify him. He was skeptical of my opinion. —Steve Gulbrandsen, Victoria, MN

Why skeptical — you seem like a level-headed fellow to Rules Guy. That said, while moving a tee-marker can get you disqualified, in this case it would only have been the general penalty.

When playing a tee shot from the teeing area, the marker is treated as fixed, so if moving it improves your stance or area of intended swing (or any other condition affecting the stroke) you get the general penalty under Rule 8.1.

Rules
golfers on tee
Rules Guy: How much are you allowed to touch the ball with your club on a tee box?
By: Rules Guy

If you move the tee-marker because you believe the Committee messed up, or deliberately destroy a tee-marker (in a murderous rage, say), then the Committee would have the option of disqualifying you for serious misconduct under Rule 1.2.

If the player causes the tee-marker to move for some other reason and the conditions affecting the stroke are not improved, there is no penalty per Clarification 6.2b(4)/1 — the player should replace the marker but isn’t penalized if they don’t.

For more tee-box guidance from our guru, read on …

On the 18th hole, I had the idea to brace my front (left) foot up against the backside of the left tee marker, to give me the feeling not to sway forward on the downswing. Is this legal? — Sam Stitt, Cave Creek, AZ 

Brace yourself, Sam: It is! With a caveat. Namely, you can’t move the tee marker such that your stance was improved.

So long as that’s the case, you are a gentleman, a scholar, and an innovator.

Need help unriddling the greens at your home course? Pick up a custom Green Book from Golf Logix.

Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.

Latest In Instruction

4 hours ago

The best advice for breaking 90, according to low handicappers

6 hours ago

Can't stop hitting the ball thin? Try focusing on this

9 hours ago

Cure your chipping yips with this clever trick

1 day ago

5 big things to consider when searching for a swing coach

generic profile image

Golf.com

Related Articles

Rules
OB stake

Rules Guy: Does an OB boundary extend past the last stake?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
embedded ball

Rules Guy: Can an embedded ball be denied free relief?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Golfer's hand reaching for club in bag

Rules Guy: Is it legal to add a club to your bag mid-round?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
golf ball on cart path

Rules Guy: If you choose to play the ball off a cart path and hit it OB, can you take relief on your next shot?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
golfer removing golf ball from hole

Rules Guy: Is it legal to tap down grass around the hole before putting?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Golf ball resting against pin and about to drop into hole

Rules Guy: How much of the ball needs to be in the cup to be considered holed?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
OB stake

Rules Guy: Can you play a ball that goes OB, but is in-bounds on another hole?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Golf ball in the sand trap. No people.

Rules Guy: Can you use a tee to test bunker depth before hitting?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Golfer places ball on tee preparing for a driver shot.

Rules Guy: When playing winter rules, can you tee up your ball on loose impediments?

By: Rules Guy
Sign up for GOLF's Newsletters
Get the latest news, the hottest instruction tips, new product releases, golf media insider reports and more delivered directly to your inbox. Choose your favorites now.
Sign Up
Categories
  • News
  • Instruction
  • Gear
  • Lifestyle
  • Travel
Services
  • Masthead
  • GOLF Media Kit
  • GOLF Magazine Customer Service
  • TERMS OF SERVICE
  • PRIVACY POLICY
  • Opt-out of Ads/Sharing
  • Your Privacy Choices
Social
  • facebook
  • x
  • instagram
  • youtube
Membership
InsideGOLF Logo
More than $140 Value for JUST $39.99

INCLUDES 12 SRIXON Z-STAR XV GOLF BALLS, 1 YR OF GOLF MAGAZINE, $20 FAIRWAY JOCKEY CREDIT - AND MUCH MORE!

LEARN MORE

© 2025 EB Golf Media LLC. An 8AM Golf Affiliated Brand. All Rights Reserved.

Go to mobile version