x
Skip to main content
Golf Logo
InsideGolf Join Now / Log In
Rules Guy: Can you take free relief from an animal hole in a bunker?
SHARE
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
Golf Logo
  • News
    • Latest
      • News
      • Features
      • Shows
    • Series
      • Tour Confidential
      • Monday Finish
      • Hot Mic
      • Rogers Report
    • Shows
      • The Scoop
      • GOLF Originals
      • Seen & Heard
      • Breakthrough
      • Kostis & McCord: Off Their Rockers
  • Instruction
    • Game Improvement
      • Driving
      • Approach Shots
      • Bunker Shots
      • Short Game
      • Putting
      • Rules
      • Fitness
    • Series
      • Top 100 Teachers
      • Rules Guy
      • The Etiquetteist
    • Shows
      • Warming Up
      • Play Smart
      • Shaving Strokes
      • Short Game Chef
      • Pros Teaching Joes
  • Gear
    • Clubs
      • Drivers
      • Irons
      • Hybrids
      • Fairway Woods
      • Wedges
      • Putters
    • Other Gear
      • Balls
      • Shoes
      • Apparel
      • Golf Accessories
    • Series
      • ClubTest
      • Proving Ground
      • Firsthand With A Fitter
      • Winner’s Bag
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • Travel
      • Course Finder
      • Courses
      • Resorts
    • Lifestyle
      • Accessories
      • Celebrities
      • Food
      • Style
      • Betting Advice
    • Shows
      • Super Secrets
      • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Shop
      • Clubs
      • Shafts
      • Training Aids
      • Balls
      • Bags
      • Technology
      • Apparel
      • Accessories
      • Our Picks
      • Shop All
  • Newsletters
    • Sign Up for GOLF’s Newsletters
      • Hot Mic
      • Monday Finish
      • Play Smart
      • Our Picks
      • Top Stories
      • Sign Up for All
  • News
    • Latest News
    • Features
    • Shows
  • Instruction
    • All Instruction
    • Driving
    • Approach Shots
    • Bunker Shots
    • Short Game
    • Putting
    • Rules
    • Fitness
  • Gear
    • All Gear
    • Drivers
    • Irons
    • Hybrids
    • Fairway Woods
    • Wedges
    • Putters
    • Balls
    • Shoes
    • Apparel
    • Golf Accessories
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • All Travel
    • All Lifestyle
    • Course Finder
    • Courses
    • Resorts
    • Accessories
    • Celebrities
    • Food
    • Style
    • Betting Advice
  • Series
    • Tour Confidential
    • Monday Finish
    • Hot Mic
    • Rogers Report
    • Rules Guy
    • The Etiquetteist
    • ClubTest
    • Proving Ground
    • Firsthand With A Fitter
  • Shows
    • The Scoop
    • GOLF Originals
    • Seen & Heard
    • Breakthrough
    • Kostis & McCord: Off Their Rockers
    • Warming Up
    • Play Smart
    • Shaving Strokes
    • Short Game Chef
    • Pros Teaching Joes
    • Super Secrets
    • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Clubs
    • Shafts
    • Training Aids
    • Balls
    • Bags
    • Technology
    • Apparel
    • Accessories
    • Golf Staff Picks
  • Newsletters
    • Hot Mic
    • Monday Finish
    • Play Smart
    • Top Stories
    • Our Picks
    • Sign Up for All
InsideGolf Join Now / Log In
InsideGolf

Make 2025 your best golf year ever:

Get InsideGOLF
Rules

Rules Guy: Can you take free relief from an animal hole in a bunker?

By: Rules Guy
July 4, 2023
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
bunker

What do the rules say about taking free relief from an animal hole in a bunker?

Getty Images

The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.

I was playing an early-morning round and hit a low liner into a fairway bunker. Because the sand was still wet, it rolled around the front top edge of the bunker and then stopped in what I’m sure was dirt ejected from a gopher hole—a common occurrence at this course. I had no shot going forward and needed to play out sideways. Could I have taken free relief since it was the dirt from a burrowing animal? —Keith Roberts, Ventura, Calif.

Keith, we realize that this question was designed for us to reference Carl Spackler in Caddyshack, noting that a gopher is a varmint, yada yada. We will not shoot all the fish in that proverbial barrel. (Indeed, they might lock us up and throw away the key.)

As far as the Rules are concerned, the term “animal hole” includes the loose material the animal dug from the hole; assuming that’s what this was, you were indeed entitled to free relief under Rule 16.1c and Definition of Animal Hole.

From your description it sounds like the ball was still in sand in the bunker, and thus free relief would be in the bunker, one club-length from the nearest point of complete relief.

Rules
golf ball in tree
Rules Guy: Can you take free relief from an animal hole in a tree?
By: Rules Guy

For more animal-related guidance from our guru, read on …

As my friend and I were approaching his tee shot in the fairway, a fox trotted out of the woods, sniffed the ball and then urinated on it. Is my friend allowed to clean or replace the ball? —David Cole, via e-mail

Well, presumably unlike the now “marked” golf ball, the rules here are cut and dried.

In equity, the player is entitled to the lie present when the ball came to rest. Thus, your friend may lift and clean the ball.

If there is, um, “casual water” present, the player can take relief under Rule 25-1, which also allows the ball to be cleaned (and disinfected). 

Need help unriddling the greens at your home course? Pick up a custom Green Book from Golf Logix.

Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.

Latest In Instruction

3 hours ago

The best advice for breaking 90, according to low handicappers

5 hours ago

Can't stop hitting the ball thin? Try focusing on this

8 hours ago

Cure your chipping yips with this clever trick

1 day ago

5 big things to consider when searching for a swing coach

generic profile image

Golf.com

Related Articles

Rules
OB stake

Rules Guy: Does an OB boundary extend past the last stake?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
embedded ball

Rules Guy: Can an embedded ball be denied free relief?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Golfer's hand reaching for club in bag

Rules Guy: Is it legal to add a club to your bag mid-round?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
golf ball on cart path

Rules Guy: If you choose to play the ball off a cart path and hit it OB, can you take relief on your next shot?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
golfer removing golf ball from hole

Rules Guy: Is it legal to tap down grass around the hole before putting?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Golf ball resting against pin and about to drop into hole

Rules Guy: How much of the ball needs to be in the cup to be considered holed?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
OB stake

Rules Guy: Can you play a ball that goes OB, but is in-bounds on another hole?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Golf ball in the sand trap. No people.

Rules Guy: Can you use a tee to test bunker depth before hitting?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Golfer places ball on tee preparing for a driver shot.

Rules Guy: When playing winter rules, can you tee up your ball on loose impediments?

By: Rules Guy
Sign up for GOLF's Newsletters
Get the latest news, the hottest instruction tips, new product releases, golf media insider reports and more delivered directly to your inbox. Choose your favorites now.
Sign Up
Categories
  • News
  • Instruction
  • Gear
  • Lifestyle
  • Travel
Services
  • Masthead
  • GOLF Media Kit
  • GOLF Magazine Customer Service
  • TERMS OF SERVICE
  • PRIVACY POLICY
  • Opt-out of Ads/Sharing
  • Your Privacy Choices
Social
  • facebook
  • x
  • instagram
  • youtube
Membership
InsideGOLF Logo
More than $140 Value for JUST $39.99

INCLUDES 12 SRIXON Z-STAR XV GOLF BALLS, 1 YR OF GOLF MAGAZINE, $20 FAIRWAY JOCKEY CREDIT - AND MUCH MORE!

LEARN MORE

© 2025 EB Golf Media LLC. An 8AM Golf Affiliated Brand. All Rights Reserved.

Go to mobile version